Go to text-only version!
The National Football Foundation
and College Hall of Fame
Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter
Local Awards

Scholar-Leader-Athlete Award
These athletes are selected from a group of outstanding nominees from San Diego area high schools, colleges, and universities by the Awards Committee of this chapter. The schools are contacted, and recommendations from principals and football coaches, along with grade transcripts, are considered. A scholastic average of 3.0 or better is one of the requirements for consideration for this award. The student must have also received All-League honors as a football player. Citizenship on and off the campus is a third consideration in the selection process.

Willie Jones Most Inspirational Player Award
In June 1994, Willie Jones had everything going for him. He was young, handsome, intelligent and had been awarded a four-year scholarship to Cornell University. Then, on the terrible, tragic night of June 17, a sudden act of violence ended those dreams and the promise he offered not only to us, but to the world he would have served.

We at the Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter of the National Football Foundation vowed that Willie would not be forgotten. We could think of no more fitting nor more deserved honor than to name our Most Inspirational Player Award in his memory. We hope that, by reminding ourselves of our loss, we will be inspired to overcome with courage the adversity we face in our own lives. At the same time, we hope his memory will inspire us to the kind of excellence he strived to attain.

Willie Jones was 18 years old when he was taken from us. He had a smile as big as all outdoors. Everyone who met him loved him. He was a graduate with a 3.97 grade point average. He was the student council president, captain of his school's wrestling team, and had been awarded a four-year scholarship to Cornell University, where he planned to study to become a doctor. His mother, Rosetta Jones, said she and her husband, Willie, are extremely proud that the chapter has named its Most Inspirational Player Award after their son.