Go to text-only version!
The National Football Foundation
and College Hall of Fame
Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter
Award Recipients


San Diego Chapter Inductees to the National Hall of Fame

Bob Babich Miami of Ohio 1968
Dr. George Brown Navy
San Diego State
Don Coryell San Diego State 1961-72
Fred Dryer San Diego State 1968
Mike Garrett University of Southern California 1965
Sid Gillman Coach, Miami of Ohio
Coach, University of Cincinnati
Adm. Tom Hamilton U.S. Naval Academy 1926
Edgar "Eggs" Manske Northwestern 1934
Dr. Bill McColl Stanford 1952
Ed White University of California 1968

National Hall of Fame 1980 Gold Medal Award Winner

Walter J. Zable College of William & Mary 1937
Return to top of page


2001 Award Recipients


Outstanding Player, Offense

Tyler Arciaga Bonita Vista High School Quarterback

Outstanding Player, Defense

Terrell Williams Hoover High School Defensive Back
Running Back
Punt Returner

Scholar-Leader-Athlete, Division I

Matt Kovacevich

El Camino High School Wide Receiver, Safety

Carlos Lara

Bonita Vista High School Outside Linebacker
Kyle Gosselin Rancho Buena Vista High School Center, Defensive Tackle, Long Snapper
Rancho Bernardo High School Middle Linebacker
Torrey Pines High School Wide Receiver

Larry Emory

Rancho Buena Vista High School Running Back

Scholar-Leader-Athlete, Division II

Matt Andre

San Pasqual High School Defensive Back

Rory Canfield

Helix High School Offensive Guard, Long Snapper

John Castillo

Helix High School Inside Linebacker

Zach Gorham

El Capitan High School Offensive Tackle

John Mende

Oceanside High School Quarterback

Isaac Pastrana

Eastlake High School Strong Safety

Richard Del Rincon

Monte Vista High School Running Back, Defensive Back

John Nielsen

Mira Mesa High School Quarterback

Scholar-Leader-Athlete, Division III

Michael Bass

Santana High School Wide Receiver, Free Safety

Hank Bradley

Madison High School Center, Defensive End

Shannon Nowden

Mission Bay High School Defensive Back, Wide Receiver

Eric Richards

La Jolla High School Offensive Left Tackle

Will Scott

Hoover High School Running Back, Defensive Back

Scholar-Leader-Athlete, Division IV

Jeff Crusey

Francis Parker High School Defensive Tackle, Tight End

Gustavo Gallego

Army and Navy Academy Defense Back

Steve Jensen

The Bishop's School Running Back, Strong Safety

Robert Ortiz

Horizon High School Strong Safety, Wide Receiver

Colin Sinclair

Santa Fe Christian Wide Receiver, Cornerback

Return to top of page

Scholar-Leader-Athlete, Community College

Tyson Thompson

Palomar College Tight End

Clint Womack

Grossmont College Quarterback

Scholar-Leader-Athlete, University

Brian Russell

San Diego State University Safety, Quarterback, Cornerback

Christos Renner

University of San Diego Offensive Tackle

Return to top of page

Willie Jones Most Inspirational Player Award

Gregory Moore

Hoover High School Linebacker, Fullback

Coach of the Year

Dennis A. Pugh

Mission Bay High Head Coach

Meritorious Coach of the Year

Carl Parrick

Bonita Vista High School Head Coach

Distinguished American Award

John Shacklett

Morse High School Head Coach